A new look for the Independencia Boulevard in Torreón.

A new look for the Independencia Boulevard in Torreón.

Coahuila government announced a 350-million pesos investment in public work in Torreón by backing the Cuatro Caminos Urban Regeneration, a project anchored by the construction of an underpass on Independencia Boulevard with the objective to improve traffic flow in one of the busiest avenues in town.

Up to this day, the capacity of Independencia Boulevard – as well as its intersections with Calzada Cuauthémoc, Diagonal Reforma and Ávila Camacho – is so overflown that the 105-thousand people driving through that road every day must face a long waiting period in traffic, losing big amounts of time and gas to reach their destinations.

The Cuatro Caminos Urban Regeneration projects aims to optimize the commuting of locals by building a 4-lane viaduct (two lanes in every direction), with a 770 m length, at Cuatro Caminos in order to ease the traffic flow on Independencia Boulevard. The plan also considers creating a new 350 m pedestrian area with bikeways, new lighting, public transportation stops, a commercial zone, and natural decorations in the middle of the underpass, as well as traffic lights systems of 2 and 3 phases.

Following the results of the hydrological studies to support the nature of the work and avoid floods, the project will have an 800 m³ storm water pumping station, including its own light plant.

The Cuatro Caminos Urban Regeneration project is estimated to be ready in 12 months by using a mix construction approach. The proposal has been already approved by ISN members in Torreón.

The Cuatro Caminos Urban Regeneration will not only improve the commute of Torreón citizens, but it will also uplift the face of a city known for its important industrial activities and connectivity with other important cities in Mexico such as Mexico City, Toluca, Querétaro, Puebla, Guanajuato, Guadalajara, Zapopan, Zacatecas, Durango, Gómez Palacio, Torreón, Saltillo, Monterrey, Chihuahua, Tampico, Tijuana, Mexicali, Hermosillo, Obregón, Los Mochis, Culiacán, Mazatlán y Tepic.